AIA Wisconsin Home





AIA Wisconsin Awards
Awards & Recognition Programs



Annually, a jury selects the work of member architects that merits recognition for design excellence. Awards may be presented in two categories. Honor Awards recognize overall design excellence. Merit Awards recognize excellence in a particular aspect of project design, such as detailing, energy efficiency or adaptive use. The jury is comprised of distinguished architects from outside of Wisconsin. There are no entry categories and no detailed criteria beyond those in this announcement. Non-building designs are encouraged. The projects are not judged in competition with each other, but rather by measuring the architect’s performance against each project’s potential. Thus, projects of ordinary program or modest budget can receive an award based on the architect’s skill in optimizing the design opportunity.


  • Call for Entries: October
  • Submittal Commitment Due: Mid-January
  • Submittal Binder Due: Mid February
  • Design Awards Celebration & Announcement: AIA Wisconsin Convention, April/May

Call For Entries

Design Award Archive


The Golden Award is the highest honor that AIA Wisconsin can bestow upon a member architect. It recognizes distinguished leadership and service to the profession and the AIA. Twenty-three AIA Wisconsin members have been recognized since 1986. Contact AIA Wisconsin to request nomination materials. The deadline for 2012 AIA Wisconsin Golden Award nominations is November 2.

Golden Award Recipients


The national AIA Fellowship program was developed to elevate those architects who have made a significant contribution to architecture and society and who have achieved a standard of excellence in the profession. Election to Fellowship not only recognizes the achievements of the architect as an individual, but also honors before the public and the profession a model architect who has made a significant contribution to architecture and society on a national level.

The AIA Wisconsin Fellowship Committee works to identify and recommend to the Board of Directors candidates for nomination for advancement to the AIA College of Fellows. The Committee encourages members to seek advancement and assist candidates in the preparation of nomination materials. If you are interested in pursuing Fellowship candidacy, please contact AIA Wisconsin.

Fellowship Nomination Information


An AIA Wisconsin Citation for Distinguished Service recognizes significant contributions and service to the profession of architecture.  It may be awarded by the Board of Directors to individuals, organizations and/or companies.  AIA Wisconsin members and nonmembers are eligible to receive this award. 


A Certificate of Appreciation is an award to recognize significant contributions and service to AIA Wisconsin and/or local Chapters.  It may be presented to individuals, committees, organizations and/or companies. 


Contact AIA Wisconsin at, (608) 257-8477 or (800) 272-4483
with any questions.


Return to Members Area Page



AIA Crest
©2016 AIA Wisconsin. All Rights Reserved.
(608) 257-8477 | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Members Area | Events Calendar | Wisconsin Architects Foundation | Contact Us