AIA Wisconsin Home





AIA Publications
2004 Annual Design Awards Competition

Madison (April 28, 2004) Eight building projects have been recognized for excellence in architectural design by the 2004 Design Awards program of AIA Wisconsin, the state society of The American Institute of Architects (AIA).

From a private residence in the Swiss Alps to a high-tech university teaching and research facility, this year’s award-winning architecture features a spectrum of inspiring and innovative design solutions for a diverse range of buildings. The common thread is that the projects were designed by architects who are members of AIA Wisconsin.

A jury of nationally distinguished architects from outside of Wisconsin selected the award-winning projects. Members of the 2004 Design Awards jury were James Dayton, AIA, Minneapolis; Margaret Helfand, FAIA, New York; and James von Klemperer, AIA, New York.



Honor Awards

The architects and projects selected to receive Honor Awards for overall design excellence include:

  • Fuerer Gastrau Architektur/Gastrau Fuerer & Associates, with offices in Switzerland and Milwaukee, for the design of the Sutter Residence in Switzerland

  • KEE Architecture, Inc., Madison, for its design of the new office building for RS+K Strategic/Creative, a communications design firm in Madison

  • Perkins & Will, Chicago, and Potter Lawson, Inc., Madison, for their design of Rennenbohm Hall – School of Pharmacy, a new education and research facility on the UW-Madison campus

  • Vetter Denk Architects, Inc., Milwaukee, for The Milwaukee Rowing Club at Kilbourn Landing, a river’s edge boathouse with a sustainable roof-top public green space.

Merit Awards

The architects and projects selected to receive Merit Awards for excellence in particular aspects of architectural design include:

  • Flad & Associates, Madison, for its design of the new headquarters facility for ACT, Inc., a national administrator of educational and career assessments in Iowa City, Iowa

  • Johnsen Schmaling Architects, Milwaukee, for the design of the Parts House Roof Pavilion, a private outdoor living space overlooking Milwaukee

  • The Renschler Company, Inc., Madison, for its design of UW Health Clinic, a new outpatient facility in Portage.

Special Recognition Award

The Design Awards jury also awarded Special Recognition to Kahler Slater, Milwaukee, for the ASQ Center in downtown Milwaukee as a model for urban revitalization.

About The 2004 AIA Wisconsin Design Awards

The 2004 AIA Wisconsin Design Awards were presented to the architects, building owners and general contractors at a special awards ceremony on April 28 at the Monona Terrace Community and Convention Center in Madison. The annual Design Awards program represents the highest recognition given for excellence in architectural design by AIA Wisconsin.

The co-chairs of AIA Wisconsin’s 50th annual Design Awards program are Katherine Schnuck, AIA, Whitefish Bay, and Mark Kruser, AIA, Middleton. AIA Wisconsin is a 1,500-member professional society representing architects in private practice, business, industry, government and education.

Note: Electronic files of this news release and images of projects are available upon request by contacting Brenda Taylor at (608) 257-8497 ext. 102 or via e-mail.

Back to Design Awards Main

Parts House Roof Pavilion RS+K Strategic/Creative ACT Headquarters Building Project
AIA Crest
©2016 AIA Wisconsin. All Rights Reserved.
(608) 257-8477 | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Members Area | Events Calendar | Wisconsin Architects Foundation | Contact Us